image

Driver License

Driving Test

Once you have read through all the information found on this page, verified you have all the required documents, and meet the criteria you may set up an appointment or visit one of the driving test locations. Please be aware that driving test appointments often have a long waiting period and walk in availability my be limited, so be sure to schedule an appointment as early as possible.

TO DO LIST FOR SCHEDULING A ROAD TEST:
 

You must be at least 16 years of age to be eligible to take the Road Test. If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must have held a Learner License for at least 1 year conviction-free. If you are 18 years old, it’s not necessary to hold a Learner License for a year; however, you must have a valid driving record that shows you passed the exams required to obtain a Learner License to be eligible to take the Road Test.

Applicants 17 years old or younger, must submit a Parent or Guardian Certification that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night. 

r Road Tests are administered by appointment and limited walk-in customers. Appointments fill up fast, schedule online or call (813) 871-7375 for the Tampa location or (813) 740-7533 for the Brandon location up to 30 days prior to your eligibility date to reserve a day and time and ensure that you will be able to take the Road Test as soon as you become eligible to do so. Appointment times must be kept on schedule; if you arrive for your appointment unprepared or late, you will forfeit your appointment. 
 
r If your Learner License is not real ID compliant, denoted by a gold star on the upper right corner OR you are not a US citizen, you must present documents that establish your identity pursuant to the Real ID Act. To find out what documents are need check Gather Go Get
 
r Ensure that your parent, guardian or responsible adult 21 or older is able to accompany you to our office. They will be required to certify that you have completed 50 hours of driving, 10 hours of which was night-time driving. If they are unable to come in, they can complete Form HSMV 71143 and provide it to you. If you are 18 or older, married or legally emancipated, you are not required to obtain consent. However, you would be required to submit a marriage certificate or emancipation court order. 
 
r You will be required to take the Road Test in a vehicle of your choosing; a vehicle will not be provided for you to test in. You must ensure that the following vehicle requirements are met at the time of the Road Test and that you are prepared to pay $6.25 for our office to administer the Road Test. Failure to be prepared will result in an Incomplete Road Test and a $26.25 retake fee may apply when attempting the Road Test a second time and a new appointment will be required.
 
r The license plate physically on the vehicle must be current (not expired) and registered to the vehicle. 
 
r You must have the current (not expired) Florida or out-of-state registration document. If using a vehicle owned by a Commercial Driving School (CDS), you must also present the current CDS Certificate. 
 
r If the vehicle is registered in Florida, you must have proof of current (not expired) Florida Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability insurance coverage. If the vehicle is registered in another state, you can show insurance coverage in that state. 
 
r In accordance with s. 316, Florida Statutes, the vehicle must pass the safety inspection and it must have operable seat belts (with the exception of vehicles manufactured before 1968 and trucks before 1972). The gas gauge cannot display (E) empty. The Road Test will not be given if your vehicle does not pass the safety inspection. (Refer to your Official Florida Driver’s Handbook for specific inspection requirements). In addition, Examiners reserve the right not to administer a driving test if the vehicle is unsanitary or the condition of the vehicle places an Examiner in danger.
 
r If using a rental vehicle for the Road Test, the Rental Vehicle Affidavit must be completed by the authorized driver listed on the current rental agreement/contract, which must be presented for verification purposes. You may not take the Road Test in a vehicle using dealer plates. 
 
 

For Info on what will be on the driving test check the Driving Test Expectations page.