Get a Florida Identification Card

image

Due to the Real ID Act, the State of Florida has new documentation requirements. In order to obtain, renew or replace a Florida identification card, you must present original documents that prove your legal name, lawful presence, social security number and two forms of residential address 
 

To apply for an Floria identification card you will need to do the following:

  1. Gather documents that verify their identity, Social Security Number, U.S. citizenship or lawful presence status, and proof of Florida residency.
  2. Apply in person at any driver license office and bring the required documents and fees.
  3. Fee Information.

Florida statutes prohibit a person from holding both an identification card and driver license. If you hold a driver license or identification card from Florida or any other state, it must be surrendered (if it has not been lost or stolen) before a Florida identification card can be issued. 

Age Requirements
Customers must be at least five (5) years old. Customers eligible for a Disabled Parking Permit may get an identification card regardless of their age.
Issuance Period
Eight (8) year identification cards are issued to customers 15 years of age or older. Four (4) year identification cards are issued to customers 5 to 14 years of age
100% Disabled Veteran
Any veteran honorably discharged from the armed forces that have been determined by the Veterans Administration to have a 100% service connected, permanent and total disability is exempt from all identification card fees. A card or letter from the Veterans Administration stating such will be required.
Veteran Designation
Honorably discharged veterans may have the opportunity to have a veteran designation placed on their identification card. See fee chart for additional information.
No-Fee Homeless ID Card Requirements
Homeless individuals are eligible to receive an original, replacement or renewal identification card at no charge. Customers must present all required original documents proving legal name, lawful presence and social security number. In addition, proof of residency in the form of a homeless certification letter, issued by a homeless shelter or halfway house is required. Letters dated more than 90 days old cannot be accepted.