Going-Out-of-Business and Fire Sale
Florida Statutes mandate a fire or going-out-of-business sale may not be conducted without a permit. The Tax Collector's Office issues permits for going-out-of-business or fire sales for a fee of $50.00, when certain criteria are met. The permit is good for 60 days.
A going-out-of-business sale is a sale advertised in such a manner as to reasonably cause the public to believe that once everything is sold the business will be closed permanently. However, a going-out-of business sale permit is not required if the business is closing as a result of a bankruptcy judgment.
A fire sale is a sale advertised in such a manner as to reasonably cause the public to believe that the sale will offer goods damaged by fire, smoke, water or other disaster.
For more information, please contact our office.
Business Tax E-Mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
March 07, 2011