IMPORTANT:

Offices are open by appointment only. Click here for all office updates. 

Driving/Road test appointments are available to Hillsborough County residents only. Proof of residency will be required for driving/road test appointments. 

In accordance with city and county ordinances, customers are required to wear masks (face coverings) when doing business with our office.

Title & Tag Services

Out of State Title Transfer

To register a vehicle previously titled out-of-state, please bring the following documents to the Tax Collector's office:

  • Out-of-state title. If the vehicle is already titled in your name but is financed, and the title is being held by the lienholder, click here for required documents.
  • If recording a lien, the lienholder’s name, address and date of lien are required. If lienholder is an individual, a copy of their valid state issued driver license must be included.
  • If your vehicle is leased, a copy of the lease agreement and your current registration is required. If your out-of-state registration is not current, contact your lienholder for a photocopy of the front and back of the vehicle title to submit.
  • Each applicant, or their appointed power of attorney, must be present and show valid identification (state issued driver license/identification card, passport or Canadian driver license/identification card). If a power of attorney is appointed, the original or certified copy of the signed appointment must be presented at the time of application along with a copy of the applicant’s valid identification.
  • Vehicle must be present for a vehicle identification number (VIN) verification (weather permitting).If the vehicle is not available, a list of individuals authorized to complete the form can be found on here.
  • Payment of sales tax equal to that of Florida state and local tax.  A credit may be allowed with proof of a like tax paid in another state. An out-of-state title already issued in your name is not subject to sales tax with proof that the vehicle was purchased and used 6 months or more in another state.
  • If purchasing a license plate for a motor vehicle, proof of Florida property damage and PIP insurance must be submitted. Company name, insurance identification code and policy number are required.
  • If transferring a license plate, submit the previous registration, license plate, or decal number.
For assistance in calculating fees, please email us or contact our office at (813) 635-5200.

Fast Title Service

Certificate of title issued same day.

Fast Title Service is available at all Tax Collector locations. Upon request, the title certificate will be issued on site for an additional $10. A written Authorization/Release Affidavit or Power of Attorney is required by all third party recipients.


Other Title Transfers