All HCTC offices EXCEPT Downtown are now open by appointment only. The Downtown office will remain closed at this time. Click here for more information.
In accordance with city and county ordinances, customers are required to wear masks (face coverings) when doing business with our office.
We have a new protocol for remote road testing. Learn more here.
All offices will be closed on Friday, July 3rd in observance of the Independence Day holiday. We will re-open by appointment only on Monday, July 6th.
Disabled Parking Permits
Permanent Disabled Parking Permit
A Florida disabled persons parking identification permit may be issued to individuals with disabilities upon certification by a qualified medical provider.
The Permanent Disabled Permit is issued to a qualifying individual for a period of up to four (4) years from the date of issuance and expires on the applicant’s birthday. There is no charge for a four year disabled parking permit.
The disability must be certified by one of the following:
- A Licensed Physician
- Physician Assistant
- Advanced Practice Registered Nurse
An application must be completed by the disabled person and the certifying authority. Out of country authorities are not acceptable. The physician’s license number must be entered when the certifying authority is an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner or a Physician Assistant.
Disabled persons must have either a current Florida Driver license or a Florida Identification card issued by the Florida Division of Driver Licenses.
Disabled persons renewing or replacing a parking permit must submit an application completed and certified by a medical provider within the last 12 months.
The placard can be transferred to any vehicle carrying a disabled person.Placards are issued to individuals who meet the standards, NOT to the vehicle.
If anyone improperly utilizes the disabled permit without the disabled person being transported, they can be issued a parking citation with statute fines up to $250.00 plus additional court fees.
Display your Parking Permit
The permit must be hung on the rear view mirror of any vehicle used to transport the disabled person(s). The permit number must be visible from the front of the vehicle.
Wheelchair Symbol Suffix License Plate
Disabled Person License Plate
Florida Statutes provide for the issuance of a wheelchair symbol plate to any owner or lessee of a motor vehicle who qualifies for a disabled parking permit. A wheelchair symbol suffix license plate may be issued to a disabled person who owns or co-owns a vehicle and qualifies for a parking permit. Also, a disabled veteran (DV) who has a DV license plate and qualifies for a parking permit may be issued a DV wheelchair license plate.
Individuals who meet the medical qualifications are eligible to choose from one of three options:
- a wheelchair symbol license plate
- a disability placard
- a combination of one wheelchair plate and one placard
This qualification can be obtained by accurately completing the Application for a Disabled, Disabled Veteran or Motorcycle International Wheelchair Symbol License Plate (HSMV 83007) or contacting the Tax Collector’s office.
Vehicles with disabled parking placards or wheelchair license plates displayed may park at parking meters free of charge unless otherwise posted. Meters with posted maximum time limits are enforced after a four hour time period (FS 316.1964). The vehicle must be transporting the disabled person. The person with a disability placard may authorize designated driver to park vehicle in a wheelchair symbol parking space as long as the person designated on the “Person with a Disability Identification Card” is in the vehicle and has their ID card with them.